Gray Named to Cheryl Miller Award Watch List

LUBBOCK, Texas – Texas Tech Lady Raider basketball senior Vivian Gray is one of 20 players from around the country to be named to the watch list for the 2021 Cheryl Miller Award. Named after the three-time Naismith Player of the Year and Class of 1995 Hall of Famer, the annual award in its fourth year recognizes the top small forwards in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.
Gray is no stranger to Cheryl Miller Award voters, as she finished the season as a top-10 finalist a year ago. It marks her second-straight season to be named to the award’s preseason watch list.
The Lady Raider senior is set to make her Texas Tech debut this season after turning in a pair of outstanding seasons at Oklahoma State. Gray is a two-time honorable mention All-American and has twice earned First Team All-Big 12 nods.
The Big 12’s second-leading scorer at 19.3 points per game last season, Gray finished her junior season ranking second in the conference in minutes played (37.6 mpg), third in free-throw percentage (84.1 percent) and fifth in assist-turnover ratio (1.7). She was also ninth in the league in assist per game (3.7 apg), 13th in steals (1.6 spg), 15th in field-goal percentage (36.3 percent) and 15th in blocked shots (0.8 bpg).
Gray and the Lady Raiders will open the 2020-21 season on Nov. 25 at 1 p.m. against UTRGV at United Supermarkets Arena. Fans interested in purchasing general admission season tickets for the 2020-21 Lady Raider Basketball season can purchase them online today.
College basketball fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. In early February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2021 Cheryl Miller Award will be narrowed to just 10. In early March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. Miller and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee.
The winner of the 2021 Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award will be presented on Friday, April 9, 2021, along with the other four members of the Women’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award, and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, in addition to the Men’s Starting Five.
Previous winners of the Cheryl Miller Small Forward of the Year Award include Satou Sabally, Oregon (2020), Bridget Carleton, Iowa State (2019) and Gabby Williams, Connecticut (2018).
About Cheryl Miller:
Cheryl Miller took women’s basketball to a new level, literally and figuratively. With her tremendous leaping ability, athletic dexterity and grace, Miller established a legacy throughout her high school and college career that is unparalleled. Playing for Riverside Polytechnic High School (CA), in 1982, Miller set the single game scoring record of 105 points. As a collegiate forward at the University of Southern California from 1982 to 1986, Miller helped bring women’s basketball to the forefront of American sports. In 1984, she led the Olympic team to gold averaging more than 16 points per game. Her superior athletic ability and engaging persona placed her among the elite in the world of college and professional athletics. In 1986, Sports Illustrated named Miller as the best male or female player in college basketball. In a spectacular career, Miller scored 3,018 total career points and was a four-time All-America. Miller was named Naismith Player of the Year three times and earned the Wade Trophy once. Miller was inducted into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame in 1999 and the FIBA Hall of Fame in 2010. Since retiring from professional play, Miller has had a very successful career as a WNBA GM, professional and collegiate coach, and sportscaster for TNT, ESPN and NBC for the 1996 Olympics.
About the WBCA:
Founded in 1981, the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association is the professional association for coaches of women’s and girls’ basketball at all levels of competition. The WBCA offers educational resources that coaches need to help make themselves better leaders, teachers and mentors to their players; provides opportunities for coaches to connect with peers in the profession; serves as the unifying voice of a diverse community of coaches to those organizations that control the game; and celebrates those coaches, players and other individuals who excel each year and contribute to the advancement of the sport. For more information, visit us online:, follow @wbca1981 or call 1-770-279-8027.
About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame:
Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was born, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame is an independent non-profit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to promoting, preserving and celebrating the game of basketball at every level – men and women, amateur and professional players, coaches and contributors, both domestically and internationally. The Hall of Fame museum is home to more than 400 inductees and over 40,000 square feet of basketball history. Nearly 200,000 people visit the Hall of Fame museum each year to learn about the game, experience the interactive exhibits and test their skills on the Jerry Colangelo “Court of Dreams.” Best known for its annual marquee Enshrinement Ceremony honoring the game’s elite, the Hall of Fame also operates over 70 high school and collegiate competitions annually throughout the country and abroad. For more information on the Basketball Hall of Fame organization, its museum and events, visit, follow @hoophall or call 1-877-4HOOPLA.
2021 Cheryl Miller Award Candidates*

Taylor Soule Boston College
Summer Hemphill Buffalo
Evina Westbrook Connecticut
Aubrey Griffin Connecticut
Grace Berger Indiana
Ashley Joens Iowa State
Rhyne Howard Kentucky
Elizabeth Balogun Louisville
Angel Reese Maryland
Rickea Jackson Mississippi State
Erica Johnson Ohio
Erin Boley Oregon
Brea Beal South Carolina
Haley Jones Stanford
Mia Davis Temple
Rennia Davis Tennessee
Kayla Wells Texas A&M
Vivian Gray Texas Tech
Michaela Onyenwere UCLA
Ivana Raca Wake Forest

*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2020-21 season

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *